Research and Scientific Computing Sector, 2009-2015 - Research and Computing Sector (RC), 2016-Present

S. Bertolucci

In 2009 the CERN management adopted a new organisational structure and regrouped its activities into three sectors:

  • Research and Scientific Computing
  • Accelerators and Technology
  • Administration and General Infrastructure

The experimental (EP) and theoretical (TH) physics departments were regrouped with Information Technology Department (IT) to form the Research and Scientific Computing Sector comprising two departments:

This sector was responsible for all aspects of research, comprising the LHC and the whole non-LHC program as well as scientific computing.

In 2016 with the appointment of a new Director-General, the CERN structure was regrouped in four sectors:

The sector was renamed Research and Computing Sector (RC) and kept the same activities. The Physics department split into two departments, so the RC Sector comprised three departments

2016 E. Elsen
2021 Mnich, J
Source: Annual reports
Last modified
4 January, 2021