Scientific Information Policy Board (SIPB)

The Scientific Information Policy Board (SIPB) is an inter-divisional body reporting to the Director General. It deals with any matters related to policies and strategies of scientific information services to the high-energy physics community. The mandate of the SIPB was approved on 17 April 1990.

SIPB meetings

The SIPB typically meets two to three times per year upon invitation of its chair. Meeting details and minutes have been available online since 1995 to the CERN community (login required).

Current members of the SIPB

  • Michelangelo Mangano, TH (Chairman)
  • Alexander Kohls, RCS (Secretary)
  • Carlos Lourenço, EP (Chair CREB, EP)
  • Markus Aicheler, BE (ACCU)
  • Federico Ferri, EP (ACCU)
  • James Gillies, IR, DG, FAP, HR, IPT, SCE
  • Thierry Stora, EN
  • Tim Smith, IT
  • Frank Schmidt, BE
  • Arjan Verweij, TE
  • Javier Castillo Castellanos and Yvonne Pachmayer, EP (ALICE)
  • Fabio Cerutti, EP (ATLAS)
  • Greg Landsberg, EP (CMS)
  • Franz Muheim, EP (LHCb)
  • Brigitte Bloch-Devaux, EP (non-LHC experiments)


  • Tullio Basaglia
  • Stella Christodoulaki
  • Anne Gentil-Beccot
  • Jose Benito Gonzalez Lopez​
  • Anita Hollier
  • Kamran Naim
  • Jens Vigen
  • Joachim Mnich (Standing invitation)
SIPB Meeting
Last modified
1 September, 2021